Long-List Hawkeye Prize 2021

Hawkeye is thrilled to announce the Long-List for the Hawkeye Publishing Manuscript Development Prize 2021.

Khaiah Thomson author of Welcome to Blackwood.
The previous winner of the Hawkeye Publishing Manuscript Development Prize 2020, Khaiah Thomson, with her universally 5-starred by reviewers fantasy novel, Welcome to Blackwood.

Congratulations to these authors who now contest first prize of $2,500 editing/coaching, and the possibility of a publishing contract.

Annerleigh Pappos –Dimitri on the Overpass
Andrea Barton –Lost in Lagos
Andrew Nest –Line of Descent
Anne Freeman –Returning to Adelaide
Anthony Lai –Retrocausality
Barry McErlean –Ghost Train & The Scarlet Moon
Bryn Smith –Magnus Nights – The Helios Incident
Christine Johnson –The Chinaman’s Horse
Fay Patterson –Empathy
Fleur Glenn –Nina and Pearl
Gabriella Kelly-Davies –Breaking Through the Pain Barrier
Gabrielle Davis –The Road to Freedom
Jennifer Grubb –Impact
Jennifer MacKenzie –Missing Pieces
Katherine Greening –Pagoda Anchorage
Lillian Telford –Brunswick Street
Lindsay Bamfield –The Place Between
Lisette Drew –The Cloud Factory
Nicky Noah –The Money Tree
Nicole Taylor –I’m Always Watching You
Paul Garrety –Middle Women
Peter Long –In the Glasshouses
Raelene Purtill –Aesteros Rising
Sophie Vivian –The Banksia Men
Tara Barnard –Caverath Crown
Timo Bozsolik-Torres –Project Scaevola
Troy Henderson –Head Grenade

Judges describe the long-listed writers were chosen because they proved they deeply understood their story and its genre, and played to the story’s strengths. The long-listed writers displayed application of show not tell, world-building, and active phrasing above the level of the remainder of the field.

Good luck to all those long-listed. Judges now cast a more critical eye over plot, characters, atmosphere, narrative arc, rising tension, technical skills, and the author’s grasp of publicity, and will announce the short list next week.

Thank you to all who entered the Hawkeye Publishing Manuscript Development Prize. In due course, you will receive an email from us with some suggestions judges had for your manuscript. We very much appreciate the depth and range of storylines submitted to us this year.

Nicole Kelly, author of Lament.
Nicole Kelly, author of Lament, was Short-Listed in last year’s Hawkeye Publishing Manuscript Development Prize. Her since published novel, Lament, is touted by readers as film-worthy. She is now consistently interviewed on radio.

Previous winners, Khaiah Thomson and Nicole Kelly, join our celebrity guest judging panel to choose the overall winner of the 2021 Hawkeye Publishing Manuscript Development Prize. They are joined by Hawkeye’s Submissions Editor, Nita Delgardo. The winner will be announced on 16 March 2021.

Four authors short-listed in the Hawkeye Publishing Manuscript Development Prize 2020 went on to be signed by Hawkeye Publishing. As well as Khaiah and Nicole, we signed Camille Booker for her epic novel What If I Fly?, and E. J. Avey for domestic noir thriller, Wellworth – both of which are due for release later this year.

Winning Short Story Competitions – Essential Tools for the Serious Writer

Hawkeye Publishing Manuscript Development Prize

Sydney Hammond Memorial Short Story Competition

Hawkeye Publishing

3 comments to “Long-List Hawkeye Prize 2021”

You can leave a reply or Trackback this post.
  1. Peter L - February 11, 2021 Reply

    Wow how exciting. I never imagined.

  2. Lawrey G - February 11, 2021 Reply

    Good luck, long-listers!

  3. Valerie G Miller - March 20, 2022 Reply

    Congratulations to all ⭐️⭐️⭐️ What a great achievement. Wishing you all the best for the final decision.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.